#26. Freedom

juan-pablo-duarte-moneda-peso

Sometimes I take freedom for granted because I don’t know what it’s like to live without.

My country could be underdeveloped and corrupt and a million other things I could rightfully complain about, but I still have freedom–freedom bought with blood and death and revolutionary ideas and faith in God and willingness to sacrifice.

Sometimes I forget that Juan Pablo Duarte is more than a bust engraved on an almost worthless peso. He is more than some mythical creature of the nineteenth century with supernatural bravery. He was just a man who knew freedom is worth fighting for; and he fought for it. He was just a man born 200 years ago today, but whose legacy we still celebrate.

Leave a Reply

