#21. Family Road Trips to Monte Plata

Ice pops totally bring back childhood memories.

Ice pops totally bring back childhood memories.

Going to my mom’s hometown always makes me nostalgic. It brings back pleasant memories from my childhood and early teen years. We didn’t go very often, but every time we did, I had a blast–running around town, eating a lot, playing with the little cousins, meeting new family members, soaking in nature and stillness that doesn’t abound in the city.

Going back today with the family after +5 years without visiting filled me with happiness. Part of what made today’s trip a success in my eyes is the 1-hour-drive to Monte Plata–listening to Juan Luis Guerra, singing at the top of our lungs, stopping on the side of the road to buy mangoes, enjoying the scenery, being with the family. It couldn’t have been better.

3 thoughts on “#21. Family Road Trips to Monte Plata

  1. I just love road trips with the family, brings the best and worse of everyone, but always fun. Also a great way to know new places and about the past of your parents…always enjoyable. I give thanks to God for my family (and cars). 🙂

  2. Pingback: #22. Catibías | The Thankful Diary

Leave a Reply

