#66. Education… and Knowing What Pantone Colors Are

This morning, I had a meeting with the man that’s handling the print work for the family business.  He’s been printing stuff for over 20 years, and he’s done a few jobs for my dad, but this is the first time he’s working with me directly.

Even though he still looks strong, this man must be over his sixties but hasn’t had any formal training in the area. I’d been trying to explain to him what Pantone colors are and how I wanted him to do the job, but I could tell this was probably the first time he had been requested this kind of job. And I could tell that we both were getting a little frustrated by the time I had to ask him to reprint the proof sheets for the third time.

“Graphic designers are perfectionists,” he told me. Of course, as a designer, I pay much more attention to the print results than my dad.

But this man’s desire to learn left an impression on me. Yesterday, he told me not to hire anyone else to do the job because he was going to do it until it was done right. And, third time’s the charm. Today, he got it right.

I’m telling this somewhat long story because this man taught me that there is always room to learn no matter how much or little you know. He could’ve felt embarrassed and given up the job because he doesn’t know how to do it. But he had the best attitude and he persevered until he got it right.

No matter how much education or knowledge I’ve been fortunate enough to acquire, there’s always room to grow and learn. 

Leave a Reply

